Best Online Accountants UK 2026: 5 Firms Compared
Looking for the best online accountants UK businesses use? Prices, contracts, software and who you actually work with, side by side. We checked every provider’s own website so you can compare the real cost, not just the starting price.
Transparency note: this guide is written by Accounting Crunchers, and we are one of the five firms compared. Every competitor price and feature below is taken from that provider’s own published information, with the date we checked it. We have included each firm’s genuine strengths, and we say plainly where another provider may suit you better than we would.
The quick verdict: best online accountants UK
- Accounting CrunchersBest for businesses that want a tailored, negotiated fee, a choice of software, or cross-border help across the UK, US, UAE and Canada.
- CrunchBest for sole traders and limited companies who want accounting software and an accountant in one subscription.
- MazumaBest for budget-conscious sole traders who want no minimum contract.
- The Accountancy PartnershipBest for low-turnover businesses that want the lowest published starting price.
- Gorilla AccountingBest for contractors and freelancers who already use or like FreeAgent.
Best Online Accountants UK Compared Side by Side
All prices are per month and exclude VAT unless stated. “From” prices are the lowest published package, before any add-ons.
Swipe the table sideways to see every column →
| Provider | Sole trader from | Limited company from | How pricing works | Contract | Software | Who you work with |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Accounting Crunchers | Custom quote | Custom quote | One fee, scoped in a free virtual meeting | Agreed with you in the meeting | Your choice, including Xero, QuickBooks and FreeAgent | A dedicated team, or one dedicated accountant if you prefer |
| Crunch | £27 | £94Premium £145 | Fixed plans plus add-ons | Not stated on pricing page | Crunch’s own software | Accountants backed by the Crunch app |
| Mazuma | £38Up to £60 | Not published | Plans by monthly transactions | No minimum term, 1 month notice | MazApp | Accountancy team, dedicated team on Premium |
| The Accountancy Partnership | £24.50 | £39.50 | By turnover band plus add-ons | Not stated on pricing page | Pandle | Dedicated accountant |
| Gorilla Accounting | About £59 | About £125 | Package based | Check with provider | FreeAgent | Dedicated accountant |
Sources and dates are listed at the end of this page. Gorilla Accounting figures are the starting prices reported in other published comparisons, so confirm them directly with Gorilla.
How We Compared Them
Real monthly cost
The starting price plus the add-ons a typical business actually needs.
Flexibility
Contract length, notice period and whether you can choose your software.
Who does the work
A named accountant, a team, or an app with accountant support.
Services included
Accounts, tax returns, VAT, payroll and bookkeeping, and which cost extra.
Business fit
Sole trader, limited company, contractor, e-commerce or cross-border.
Published information
Only facts each firm states on its own website, checked on 22 October 2026.
The 5 Online Accountants Reviewed
1. Accounting Crunchers
Best for tailored and cross-borderPrice: custom quote after a free virtual consultation
We do not publish a fixed price list on purpose. Every business has a different mix of accounts, VAT, payroll, bookkeeping and filings, so we meet you on a video call, listen to what you need and quote one fee for the whole job. The result is a negotiated rate built around your business rather than a starting price with extras added later.
Strengths
- One agreed fee, scoped up front in the meeting
- Work in the software you already use, or the one that suits you best
- Choose a dedicated team or a single dedicated accountant
- Registered Companies House ACSP and supervised by the AIA
- UK, US, UAE and Canada handled by one firm
Worth knowing
- No instant online price, you need a short call first
- Fewer online reviews than larger brands, because we never ask clients to post reviews before or in exchange for our service
Choose Accounting Crunchers if your needs go beyond a basic package, you have overseas directors, you trade in more than one country, or you want a fee you have negotiated rather than one picked from a list.
2. Crunch
Best all-in-one appPrice: Sole Trader Pro £27, Limited Company Pro £94, Limited Company Premium £145, Premium Plus from £185 (per month, + VAT)
Crunch combines its own accounting software with accountant support in one subscription. It offers a 14-day free trial and promotional discounts, and publishes a list of add-ons such as employee payroll and registered office services.
Strengths
- Software and accountant in a single plan
- 14-day free trial
- Clear plan tiers for sole traders and limited companies
Worth knowing
- You use Crunch’s own software rather than your choice
- Some services are add-ons, such as employee payroll from £20 a month and Self Assessment at £240
Choose Crunch if you want an app-led service and are happy to keep your books in Crunch’s software.
3. Mazuma
Best budget, no contractPrice: sole trader plans £38, £45, £52 and £60 per month (+ VAT)
Mazuma prices its sole trader plans by how many transactions you have each month. Every plan includes bookkeeping, year-end accounts and one Self Assessment return, and there is no minimum contract.
Strengths
- No minimum contract, one month’s notice
- Bookkeeping and Self Assessment included in every plan
- Clear transaction limits per plan
Worth knowing
- The Basic plan includes no phone or email support hours
- Year-end accounts can take up to 6 months on Basic, and 2 months on Premium
- VAT returns and payroll are extras
Choose Mazuma if you are a sole trader with simple, predictable transactions and want to avoid any tie-in.
4. The Accountancy Partnership
Lowest starting pricePrice: sole trader from £24.50, limited company from £39.50 per month (+ VAT), rising with turnover
The Accountancy Partnership sets its core fee by turnover band and lists every add-on openly, including VAT returns, bookkeeping, payroll and director Self Assessment. It includes Pandle bookkeeping software and free limited company incorporation.
Strengths
- Lowest published starting price in this comparison
- Every add-on priced openly on its website
- Dedicated accountant and Pandle software included
Worth knowing
- The core fee rises with each turnover band
- VAT returns, bookkeeping and payroll are all add-ons, so the real bill can be several times the starting price
Choose The Accountancy Partnership if your turnover is low, you are not VAT registered and you need only the core accounts and tax return.
5. Gorilla Accounting
Best for contractorsPrice: reported from about £59 per month for sole traders and about £125 for limited companies (+ VAT)
Gorilla Accounting focuses on contractors, freelancers and limited company directors. It includes FreeAgent software and assigns a dedicated accountant to each client.
Strengths
- Specialist experience with contractors and freelancers
- FreeAgent software included
- Dedicated accountant
Worth knowing
- Higher starting prices than most providers here
- Built around FreeAgent, so less suited if you prefer other software
Choose Gorilla Accounting if you are a contractor who wants a specialist and is happy working in FreeAgent.
Starting Price vs Real Cost: A Worked Example
The headline price is rarely the bill. To show why, here is a typical small limited company priced using one provider’s fully published add-on list. We chose The Accountancy Partnership because it publishes every add-on price openly, which makes an exact calculation possible.
The business: a VAT-registered limited company with turnover of £150,000, two directors, a small payroll and up to 40 bank transactions a month.
Headline price vs this example
Over four times the headline figure, and every line is on the provider’s own price list.
This Is Not a Hidden Charge, It Is a Different Way of Pricing
Every amount above is published on the provider’s website. The lesson is simply that a low “from” price covers only the core service. Whichever accountant you choose, ask for a quote that includes everything your business needs, VAT, payroll, bookkeeping and director tax returns, before you compare.
That is exactly how Accounting Crunchers prices. We scope the full job in one call and quote one fee for all of it.
Get One Fee for Everything Your Business Needs
Book a free virtual consultation. We listen to your requirements, then quote a single negotiated fee covering your accounts, tax, VAT, payroll and bookkeeping.
Book a Free Consultation Email UsHow to Choose the Right Online Accountant

- Sole trader, simple books: a fixed low-cost plan from Mazuma or The Accountancy Partnership may be enough.
- Limited company, VAT registered: compare the full monthly cost with VAT, payroll and director tax returns added, not the starting price.
- Contractor: Gorilla Accounting specialises here, or ask us to quote alongside them.
- You want software and accountant in one app: Crunch is built for this.
- Overseas directors or more than one country: choose a firm that handles cross-border work and Companies House ID verification for non-UK directors, which Accounting Crunchers does as a registered ACSP.
- You want to keep your current software: pick a firm that works in Xero, QuickBooks or FreeAgent rather than its own app.
Five Questions to Ask Any Accountant Before You Sign
Are VAT returns, payroll and bookkeeping included or extra? Is director Self Assessment included, and for how many directors? Is there a minimum contract or a catch-up fee for joining mid-year? Will I have one named accountant? Can I use my own software?
Why Businesses Choose Accounting Crunchers
A Negotiated Fee, Not a Price List
We quote after we understand your business, so you pay for what you need and nothing you do not.
Your Software, Your Way
We work in the platform that suits you best or the one you already use.
Team or Single Accountant
Choose a dedicated team, or have one accountant handle everything for you.
Registered ACSP, AIA Supervised
We can verify directors’ identities for Companies House ourselves, including directors outside the UK. See our ID verification guide.
UK, US, UAE and Canada
One firm for businesses operating across borders, including US services.
Genuine Reviews Only
We never ask clients to post reviews before or in return for our service. Every review we have was given freely.
Switching Accountant: How It Works
Changing accountant is simpler than most people expect, and you can do it at any point in the year. Your new accountant does most of the work.
Free Consultation
Tell us what you need. We quote one fee for the full job.
Give Notice
Check your current contract for any notice period and tell your old accountant.
Professional Clearance
We contact your previous accountant for the records and information we need.
Agent Authorisation
We set up HMRC and Companies House access and take over your deadlines.

Frequently Asked Questions
Choosing an Online Accountant
Who are the best online accountants in the UK?
The best online accountants UK businesses can choose from depend on what you need. In this comparison, Crunch suits people who want an all-in-one app, Mazuma suits budget sole traders who want no contract, The Accountancy Partnership has the lowest published starting price, Gorilla Accounting specialises in contractors, and Accounting Crunchers suits businesses that want a tailored fee or cross-border support.
How much does an online accountant cost in the UK?
Published starting prices in October 2026 range from about £24.50 to £60 per month plus VAT for sole traders, and from about £39.50 to £145 per month plus VAT for limited companies. Add-ons such as VAT returns, payroll and bookkeeping can increase the real monthly cost significantly.
Which online accountant is best for a limited company?
For a limited company, compare the total monthly cost including VAT returns, payroll, bookkeeping and director Self Assessment, not the starting price. A VAT-registered company with two directors and payroll can cost over four times the headline price on a fixed plan with add-ons.
Which online accountant is best for contractors?
Gorilla Accounting focuses on contractors and freelancers and includes FreeAgent software. Crunch and Accounting Crunchers also support contractors, so it is worth comparing quotes.
Why doesn’t Accounting Crunchers publish fixed prices?
Every business needs a different combination of services, so we quote after a free virtual consultation. You receive one negotiated fee covering everything you need, instead of a starting price with add-ons.
Switching and Practical Questions
Can I switch accountant in the middle of the year?
Yes. Check your current contract for a notice period, then your new accountant requests professional clearance and the records they need from your old accountant. Some providers charge a catch-up fee if you join partway through your financial year, so ask before you sign.
Can I keep my own accounting software?
It depends on the provider. Crunch uses its own software, Mazuma uses MazApp, The Accountancy Partnership includes Pandle and Gorilla Accounting uses FreeAgent. Accounting Crunchers works in the software that suits you, including Xero, QuickBooks and FreeAgent.
Can an online accountant help if my directors live outside the UK?
Yes, if the firm handles cross-border work. Accounting Crunchers is a registered Companies House ACSP, so we can verify the identity of directors and PSCs based outside the UK without a UK visit.
Compare Us Properly: Get a Full Quote
Bring your requirements and any quote you already have. We will tell you honestly what your business needs and give you one fee for all of it.
Book a Free Consultation Our Annual Compliance ServiceRelated services: Self Assessment, bookkeeping, payroll and tax planning. If you sell online, read our guide to HMRC digital platform reporting.
About Accounting Crunchers
Accounting Crunchers is an AIA-supervised accountancy firm and registered Companies House ACSP, supporting sole traders, limited companies and growing businesses across the UK, US, UAE and Canada.
Sources: Crunch comparison and pricing information published on crunch.co.uk. Mazuma pricing page. The Accountancy Partnership pricing page. Gorilla Accounting starting prices as reported in comparisons published by Crunch and The Accountancy Partnership. All checked on 22 October 2026. Prices exclude VAT unless stated and may change at any time, so confirm current prices and terms with each provider before you decide. Accounting Crunchers is not affiliated with any other provider named on this page, and all trade names belong to their owners. This page is general information, not financial advice.